Little Green Dress

little green dress a spotlight on eco-friendly fashion.png

I am so excited to be kicking off this series! I was ‘window shopping’ on Etsy for some summer clothing and started to notice that there are some seriously talented people creating beautiful fashions that are eco-friendly; whether they are using reclaimed materials, recycling or upcycling fabrics or sourcing new materials that don’t come with a hefty environmental impact. And I wondered, what would it look like to spotlight all of them in one place? [ like here?! ] So I started to reach out to the shop owners, tell them just how rad I think they are, and ask if they wanted to buddy up for a spotlight … and here it is.

First up is Trish Hurless with Rubypearl from Texas

ruby pearl little green dress spotlight on eco friendly fashion

Tell us about Rubypearl

Rubypearl uses collected fabrics, scarves and trims to create one-of-a-kind dresses for women and children. A lot of the materials used are very old, which I feel creates an aura of history for the dress. The dresses are timeless and will be worn for years which adds your own history. Each dress is different and is a piece of art.

ruby pearl little green dress spotlight on eco friendly fashion3

How did you decide to start making eco-friendly fashion and make that a business? 

Ten years ago, when my daughter was one, I was laid off from my job. I wanted to work from home and have my daughter with me so we put our family on a budget and I put my skills to use. I began making women’s and children’s clothes for a friend’s boutique and needed fabric to practice pattern making. I visited a neighborhood thrift store and stocked up on sheets and that’s when the idea of re-purposing fabrics hit me. It was inexpensive, eco-friendly and fun to hunt for materials. A few years later I joined a friend who was creating Rubypearl dresses and we worked together for a while before she left for other ventures. I’ve been making and selling them ever since and also still have my original children’s clothing line, Sadie Loves Kiki, in addition to a new one, Rosa Rebelled. I’m very busy lol! All three of my lines use re-purposed materials.

I asked what some of her favorites are and Trish told me it’s really hard to choose [i agree] so I’ve picked some of my favorites from her current stock in her etsy shop:

‘Some dresses conjure a specific decade’ like this Vintage Sunset Slip Dress,

ruby pearl little green dress spotlight on eco friendly fashion7.jpg

‘some are edgy’ like this Rubypearl Black Widow Corset Dress

ruby pearl little green dress spotlight on eco friendly fashion8

‘and some are just downright funky’ like this Rubypearl I Love Pink Slip Dress.

ruby pearl little green dress spotlight on eco friendly fashion9.jpg

So it depends on your mood.

Do you have any eco-mantras that you live by?

I thrift as much as possible. When researching for my business plan I came across some astonishing statistics on wastefulness, especially clothing. I’m not a die-hard but I try to only acquire things I absolutely need or I will get lots of use out of. Thrifted whenever possible!

ruby pearl little green dress spotlight on eco friendly fashion4

Check out Rubypearl’s Etsy shop for more.

If you’d like to be featured in my Little Green Dress series, let me know

 

6 thoughts on “Little Green Dress

  1. Pingback: In lumina

Leave a Reply

